Woodson, Smith Make Hall of Fame

By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted Jan 31, 2009 3:20 PM CST
Woodson, Smith Make Hall of Fame
Members or relatives of Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2009 pose on Jan. 31, 2009 in Tampa, Fla.   (Chris O'Meara)

Bruce Smith, Rod Woodson, and Derrick Thomas, all witnesses for the defense. All Pro Football Hall of Famers. The three were elected today along with longtime Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson, who at age 90 will be the oldest person ever inducted; former Minnesota guard Randall McDaniel; and the late Bob Hayes, a standout wide receiver for Dallas and the 1964 Olympic 100 meters gold medalist, the AP reports.

The only candidate among the seven finalists who didn't get in was former Falcons and Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey. Former commissioner Paul Tagliabue was denied entry for the third straight year, not even making it past the first round of cuts. Critics cited his inability to place a team back in Los Angeles, and said the labor agreement he pushed through in 2006 was cast aside by the owners last year. (More NFL Hall of Fame stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.