Vegetarians: Beware That Glass of Wine

Vintners often use animal products in production
By John Johnson,  Newser Staff
Posted Mar 10, 2010 2:19 PM CST
Vegetarians: Beware That Glass of Wine
Many vintners use animal products in the clariifying process.   (AP Photo/Eric Risberg)

Just because it's made from grapes doesn't mean a glass of wine is OK for committed vegetarians. Many vintners use animal products made from bones or even fish bladders in the final clarifying stages, explains Steven Kolpan. The good news is that only minuscule amounts of the so-called fining agents remain, so those who practice vegetarianism or veganism on dietary grounds can safely drink up.

But for those who are meat-free on philosophical grounds, a little research is in order to find wines completely devoid of animal products, Kolpan writes for Salon. He suggests starting with the obvious: Google "vegan wines" to find some good lists. Beyond that, ask your wine merchant or go to the producer's website.
(Read more wine stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.