Franchitti Wins 2nd Indy 500

Mr Ashley Judd denies Helio Castroneves his 4th
By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted May 30, 2010 3:34 PM CDT
Franchitti Wins 2nd Indy 500
Sebastian Saavedra, of Colombia, crashes during the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, May 30, 2010.   (AP Photo/Marty Seppala)

Dario Franchitti has won the Indianapolis 500, beating Dan Wheldon to help Chip Ganassi become the first car owner to win at Indy and the Daytona 500 in the same year. Franchitti's victory today was his second at the Indy 500 in four years and denied Helio Castroneves a chance to become the fourth driver to win a record four times at the Brickyard.

Castroneves was running in the top 3 until he stalled coming out of a pit stop on the 145th lap. He finished ninth, as none of Roger Penske's drivers came across in the top seven. Tony Kanaan started in the 33rd position and rose as high as second, but had to pit for a splash of fuel with four laps to go and finished 11th. (More Dario Franchitti stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.