Take That: Russia Bars Boehner, Reid, McCain

After US sanctions, Moscow singles out 9 American officials
By Newser Editors,  Newser Staff
Posted Mar 20, 2014 11:52 AM CDT
Take That: Russia Bars Boehner, Reid, McCain
House Speaker John Boehner.   (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

Russia got Crimea, but the US is dominating in the sanctions department. After President Obama ramped up strong economic penalties against 20 prominent Russians (but not Vladimir Putin), Moscow fired back by telling nine American officials (but not Obama) that they weren't welcome in Russia, reports the Hill. The biggest names on the no-visa list are John Boehner, Harry Reid, and John McCain. The other six are Deputy National Security Adviser for International Economics Caroline Atkinson, senior White House adviser Daniel Pfeiffer, Deputy National Security Adviser Ben Rhodes, and Sens. Robert Menendez, Mary Landrieu, and Dan Coats.

Boehner, for one, sounds pretty happy about it. "Proud to be included on a list of those willing to stand against Putin's aggression," he tweeted. (Read more Russia stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.