Some Coca-Cola Bottles Have Yellow Caps This Week

Company uses different recipe to make them kosher for Passover
By Rob Quinn,  Newser Staff
Posted Apr 23, 2024 7:37 PM CDT

If you prefer Coca-Cola made with cane sugar to Coca-Cola made with corn syrup, this could be your lucky week. Food & Wine reports that, as in years past, some bottles of Coke have yellow caps this week, meaning that they are kosher for Passover. Jewish dietary restrictions are stricter during the holiday, which began Monday evening and ends April 30. Leavened foods are off-limits during Passover. Many Jews also shun a category of foods known as kityinot, which includes beans, rice, and corn, meaning that regular Coke with corn syrup isn't considered kosher during Passover.

Coca-Cola uses cane sugar for an alternative recipe that observant Jews can drink during Passover and Food & Wine notes that the ingredients are identical to Mexican Coke: "Carbonated water, sugar, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, and caffeine." According to Business Insider, the yellow-topped Coke bottles are also snapped up by "purists, foodies, and hipsters who can tell the difference between the two concoctions." (More Coca-Cola stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.