Hawaii Wins Little League Title

By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted Aug 24, 2008 8:56 PM CDT
Hawaii Wins Little League Title
Hawaii's Tanner Tokunaga, center, is welcomed by teammates Jedd Andrade, top left, and Kainoa Fong (2) after hitting a second-inning, two-run homer.   (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar)

Hawaii's mini-mashers got a little help from Mexico's miscues to win a fourth straight Little League World Series title for the United States. Tanner Tokunaga smacked two homers and Iolana Akau added a solo blast as the boys from Waipahu, Hawaii, defeated Matamoros, Mexico, 12-3, to take the biggest prize in youth sports.

Hawaii was helped by three Mexico errors. Two Hawaii runs scored on passed balls, and another came in on a bases-loaded walk. But Mexico's lineup is loaded with dangerous hitters, so the lead wasn't safe until reliever Christian Donahue got Fernando Villegas to ground out to shortstop. A team from Ewa Beach, Hawaii, started the US winning streak in 2005, with Little Leaguers from Georgia taking the prize the previous two years. (More Little League World Series stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.